In Honor of Syria’s Dead: Ibrahim Keivo

With the shocking news of more killing of aid volunteers in Syria, I share some healing music from around the same area the atrocity occurred.

Harmonium

f0af2085d1fa4c848109eaafe7cc698f_18

Readers of this blog may know other parts of my story. In particular that for many years I was an ‘aid worker’.

I turned that hat in at the counter a year ago, relieved and pleased to be focused on new adventures. And though I had many ‘beefs’ with the industry, especially as my career progressed, I have never doubted or belittled the courage of local volunteers.

The backbone of any successful relief or aid operation is the support it receives from local communities. Local volunteers are so critical because they are usually part of the community that is being assisted and have a huge stake in making sure the aid is delivered quickly and efficiently.

But local people are also important because they understand the language and local dialects. They are familiar with the hidden political or cultural agendas that outsiders (like me and my colleagues) miss completely. They…

View original post 1,267 more words

Leave a Reply

